Board of Directors


Iain Ross


Iain Ross was appointed to the Board in July 2021.

Iain Ross is a highly experienced board director with a career in the international life sciences and technology sectors that spans 40 years. He held senior commercial roles at Sandoz, Fisons and Hoffman La Roche before moving into the biotechnology sector where he has been Chairman, CEO and Director of several international biotechnology companies including Celltech Group plc, Quadrant Healthcare plc and Redx Pharma plc.

Currently he is Non-Executive Chairman at Silence Therapeutics PLC (LSE/NASDAQ) and Kazia Therapeutics Limited (ASX/NASDAQ). Mr Ross is a qualified Chartered Director, Fellow of the Institute of Directors and Honorary Fellow of Royal Holloway, London University.


Catherine Isted ACMA

Chief Financial Officer

Catherine Isted was appointed to the Board in October 2021. 

Catherine joined ReNeuron from Oxford Biomedica plc, a global leading cell and gene therapy company, where she was part of the finance leadership team heading up the Corporate Development and IR, helping the business grow over 800%, enter the FTSE250 and pass through £1bn market capitalisation.

Prior to that she spent 19 years in the City at Morgan Stanley, ABN AMRO, Nomura and Peel Hunt in Healthcare equity research and equity sales roles, 12 years of which at Partner level during which time she undertook multiple IPO’s and fundraisings for companies in the Healthcare sector.

The early part of Catherine career was at Merck, Sharp and Dohme, the UK subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., initially as a bench scientist in their medicinal chemistry laboratories, before a career change and move into their finance team where she trained to be an accountant.

Catherine graduated with a 1st class chemistry degree and is a Chartered Management Accountant.


Barbara Staehelin

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Barbara Staehelin was appointed to the Board in July 2021.

Ms. Staehelin’s career in the international life sciences and technology sectors spans over 30 years and includes consulting, CEO and Chair roles. She has led and co-founded four life science companies and is currently on the Board as President of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Investment Committee at Assura Group, which operates in the health insurance sector and which is headquartered in Switzerland. Ms. Staehelin’s background is in biochemistry and until 2006, she was a member of the Global Executive Committee of Roche Diagnostics.

Ms. Staehelin holds a Directors Certificate from Harvard University, USA as well as executive education in new concepts for boards from University St. Gallen, Switzerland, health economy from the European School for Health Economics, France and an MBA from INSEAD Fontainebleau, France.

Dr Mike Owen

Dr Mike Owen Ph.D

Non-Executive Director

Dr Mike Owen was appointed to the Board in December 2015.

He currently serves as a director of Zealand Pharma and Ossianix Inc. He is also a member of the scientific advisory board at Avacta Group plc.

His career in biotech, the pharmaceutical industry and academia spans more than 40 years.  He was formerly Senior vice president for biopharmaceuticals research at GlaxoSmithKline and was also a founder and chief scientific officer of Kymab Ltd, an antibody based biotech company. He has previously served as a director for BliNK Biomedical SAS. For many years held a research position at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund (now CR-UK) and he has previously served on the scientific advisory board of the CRT Pioneer Fund LP.

He is also a member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.


Martin Walton

Non-Executive Director

Martin was appointed to the Board in March 2022.

Martin spent 25 years in global investment banking and asset management, culminating as Vice Chair in charge of Wholesale and Commercial Banking for Europe and Asia-Pacific at Toronto Dominion Bank.

Since 2010, Martin has been an active VC / PE investor, portfolio manager, and advisor in life sciences involving a number of Executive and non-Executive positions, completing over 25 transactions (spinouts, financings, M&A, IPOs, divestitures) and has raised over £1bn in investment and co-investment capital.

Martin is co-founder of LSE-listed Arix Bioscience plc (LSE: ARIX) and currently serves as Chairman and CEO of Bradshaw Consulting Ltd. He is CEO of virtual biotech Excalibur Medicines Ltd, Board Director of Interrad Medical and a Board Member of the Liverpool Life Sciences Accelerator Partnership.

In addition to a wealth of experience in the life sciences sector, he also has extensive Governance, Oversight, Audit Committee and Risk Committee experience as well as specific experience in start-up, growth (organic and acquisition), turnaround and consolidation strategies.